5 Star DJ Reviews For Weddings & Discos In Southampton & Hampshire

Here is a list of some of my recent genuine reviews & testimonials. I am very proud to have such good feedback and feel privileged to have been asked to play such an important part in so many weddings and parties. This is my business but I did not get into DJing for the money, it is because I love doing it and feedback like this makes it all worthwhile. I think the best advertising comes from satisfied customers and I thank you all for your kind words.

John & Kerry DJ Review – Beaulieu Hotel – July 2016

We were so pleased that we had Martin as DJ for our Wedding evening celebration. From our initial meeting we knew that we were in the hands of a true professional who not only knew his music but his experience & attention to detail would ensure perfection.
His sound equipment & lighting was excellent – this was all set up prior to guests arriving. The coloured themed uplighters with our names projected onto the dancefloor really enhanced the venue to create the expectation of a special evening.

At weddings it takes a certain skill to have a full dance floor all night & Martin mixed our music choices brilliantly with his experience of floor fillers to achieve this. He even did a ‘Kiddies Disco’ (at our request) which worked well & the traditional leaving arch at the end of the night brought a fantastic finale.
THANK YOU Martin for making our wedding celebration into a real dance party – we have had so many good comments from our friends & family. They loved the video that you took which showed what a great time we had.
Hopefully we will get to go to another of your events soon – we will certainly recommend you. John & Kerry

John & Kerry - Hampshire DJ Martin Lake Review

Ben & Liz DJ Review – Rhinefield House – June 2014

Dear Martin We would like to express our appreciation on the incredible job you did as DJ at our Wedding .The music was fantastic and you played all the songs we requested. We couldn’t have asked for a more professional fun filled DJ. The service you provide throughout the day was absolutely amazing and the Wedding Monograms and uplighting were BRILLIANT!!! They really made the venue look spectacular, thank you so much for arranging to have these made for us.
The uplighting was the perfect colour that matched my colour theme, I really appreciated the time taken to get it perfect for us. We have no hesitation in recommending you and your services to anyone looking for a fantastic DJ. Thank you so much for helping us make our special day (and night) a time to remember with incredible memories. p.s We will be contacting you for our 30th Birthday celebrations!!! Many thanks Liz and Ben

Liz & Ben Rhinefield DJ Review

Amanda & John DJ Review – Rhinefield House – August 2016

Hello Martin, We would like to say a massive thank you for such a great day! Everything was absolutely perfect, we couldn’t of asked for better music. Everything was perfect from start to finish and we are so glad we chose you as the DJ.

I have just watched the video and oh my goodness how beautiful was that captured moment!?… It brought a tear to my eye! We also loved all the gobos and lighting… Absolutely Beautiful! If anyone ever asks us for recommendations for a DJ you will definitely be who we will be recommending, your services were faultless, thank you!

All the best, Mr & Mrs Nicholson 🙂 hehe!

Amanda & John's Wedding At Rhinefield House

Ross & Catherine DJ Review – Romsey Abbey- March 2017

The Perfect DJ!

Everything Martin does, from being a good communicator who wants you to get exactly what you want, to delivering a great set on the night is second to none.

He’s great to have at the party and everyone loved him, what he played and how he did it. I can’t really say more than that.

We’re delighted we found him and our wedding was so much richer for him being involved in it.

He’s just a complete legend. Best, Ross Armstrong

Ross & Catherine Testimonial- Romsey Abbey

Nigel & Jane DJ Review – Elevetham Hotel – May 2016

We are so delighted that we booked Martin to do the evening disco for our wedding. He was absolutely brilliant and so professional and ultra efficient! From our first meeting with Martin, we could see how friendly, personable and enthusiastic he was and how much he loved his music!

Martin was really friendly and easy to talk to and he really listened to what type of music and lighting we wanted and arranged it beautifully so that everyone got on the dance floor…no matter their age!

He did such a wonderful job! There were so many happy faces on the night…and we had countless people remarking how great the music was! Martin is a brilliant DJ, and we would most definitely use him again and highly recommend him to others. We cannot thank him enough! 🙂

Jan & Nigel (West Sussex)

Nigel & Jane - Hampshire DJ Martin Lake Review

Sam & Craig DJ Review – Warbrook House – June 2012

“We couldn’t recommend Martin more highly. He is a true professional and a very talented DJ, he clearly loves his job and is good at it….no cheesy DJ talk just one FANTASTIC party! Martin helped us with our play lists and ideas to make evening memorable and fun for everyone, we wanted to get everyone involved. Even the most senior of guests got up on the dance floor! We had some uplighting and it was a really good decision, the room looked amazing -it created the wow factor, complementing our colour scheme perfectly.

We had the most amazing day that went well on into the night – thank you so much Martin!”

Sam & Craig - Hampshire DJ Martin Lake Review

Jane & Nigel Peasley DJ Review – Careys Manor – July 2012

‘We loved every minute of our evening wedding reception and the music was spot on! When we told Martin that we wanted a ‘cracking good’ party he took that on board and we had just that. The dance floor was full the whole night long and he played all the hits that we loved and more.

I know it was my wedding but I can honestly say that it was the best party I have ever been to and I would absolutely recommend Martin for any special evening occasion. It was way beyond our expectations and all our guests were extremely complimentary. If I had a criticism, it would be my sadness when the evening was over. Thank you Martin for giving us the most fantastic party, you were brilliant!’

Jane & Nigel - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Lewis & Michelle DJ Review – Bartley Lodge – May 2016

We went for the Premium All Day package and Music for the Ceremony and couldn’t have been happier. He was so organised before the wedding and we didn’t need to do a thing on the day.
Martin did our ceremony music which took a lot of pressure of us and family members to organise.
He also provided the background music for our wedding breakfast which was a nice touch whilst our guests ate and socialised.

During the speeches my sister sang a song for us and prior to the day Martin spent a while looking for the backing track without the lyrics so my sister was able to perform her song.
Thank you Martin you helped make our day perfect!

Lewis and Michelle

Lewis & Michelle - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Hana & Steve DJ Review – Beaulieu Hotel – April 2017

We were looking for a DJ for our wedding and the hotel gave us Martin’s contact details.

At an introductory meeting we gave Martin an idea of the genres and type of music we liked and trusted him to fill in the gaps to give us a great playlist for the whole day. He organised the ceremony music, background music for our afternoon tea through to the evening party.

He didn’t disappoint. Many people commented on how great the DJ was.

If you’re looking for someone to organise entertainment for your wedding or other party, we can heartily recommend Martin. Everyone has different tastes in music; he listened to us and understood exactly what we wanted.

Thank you Martin so much for contributing to the perfection of our wedding day. Steve & Hana

Hana & Steve Testimonial - Beaulieu Hotel - DJ Martin Lake

Mariana & Luis DJ Review – Rhinefield House – December 2014

“Very pleased to have chosen Martin Lake to do our daughter’s wedding celebration disco. Indeed, I cannot praise Martin enough. He really made our party at Rhinefield House Hotel, on 27-12-2014! Martin is totally professional, his preparation was very thorough and the result excellent. Martin accommodated all our personal requirements and seamlessly integrated them into his disco”.

“The uplighting was brilliant with the added feature of the names of the newlyweds projected onto the dancefloor. Thank you, Martin, you definitely have our recommendation to anyone wanting a great disco”. Mrs D. Whitaker, Hampshire

Rhinefield Wedding Disco

Claire & Andrew DJ Review – Dibden Golf Club – June 2015

“Thank you so much for being a fantastic wedding dj – you were absolutely brilliant 🙂 We had so many people say how impressed they were with you, so glad we made the perfect choice by choosing you. Thanks so much Claire x”.

Claire & Andrew - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Rebecca & Chris DJ Review – The Bell Hotel- March 2015

“Not having lived in the local area for long, we didn’t have any recommendations to go on for selecting a DJ. Choosing someone to DJ at random was a bit daunting as good music can make or break a night, so we were a bit apprehensive. We found Martin via a DJ search website.

Right from the beginning we got a good feeling. Martin was exceptionally professional, friendly and accommodating. He had great ideas and suggestions to make the night memorable, as well as incorporating in all the little details we specifically asked for.

Our wedding evening was one massive party, people didn’t stop dancing. Martin took on board our music taste and mixed up the genres so there was a range of music to please all tastes. We couldn’t afford some of the extras (lights etc) but what we had was lovely and we never felt pressured to purchase add ons. Absolutely flawless. Highly recommended!

Chris & Rebecca's Archway

Ali & Tom Gurd DJ Review – July 2013 – Trafalgar Park

Martin, as always a superb DJ set and we had so many comments on how awesome our DJ was!

Tom & Ali - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Lauren and Darren DJ Review – Empire Hall – April 2013

Hi Martin, Thank you so much for everything that you did on our day! You did a fantastic job. We had lots of great comments on the music and lighting. We will be highly recommending you!!!! To everyone. Thanks again for making our day all we hoped it would be.

Darren & Lauren - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Gerard & Laura Wedding DJ Review – Rhinefield House – September 2013

We had a very unfortunate experience with a booked DJ who cancelled us the day before the wedding for a silly reason. After some frantic calling around Martin turned out to be available and came recommended, but we didn’t have time to meet him and only had a short chat on the phone. How lucky we were in hindsight as we couldn’t have wished for a better DJ for the night. We hoped to have everyone on the dance floor all night and it takes skill to sense what guests will dance to. Martin got it spot on despite a very brief conversation beforehand about our music taste, and we had a full dance floor all night (even more tricky with a large contingent of continental guests). Really couldn’t fault him he was literally the saviour of the party. Many thanks Martin, awesome job!

We wanted to thank you again for the awesome night, really what we wanted. You clearly felt what people were in the mood for and kept people dancing all night. Brilliant!

Gerard & Laura - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Dave & Claire DJ Review – Rhinefield House – December 2011

Martin was wonderful as our wedding DJ at the Rhinefield House Hotel. From our first point of contact right until the end of the day we had a wonderful service provided. Martin was always there to answer any queries we had along the way.

Martin was just fab too in accepting over 60 song requests in advance from our wedding guests for the evening party and placed them in a great order to give us the most varied music which suited all our guests.

The light show really made our reception room sparkle and tied in amazingly well with our colour scheme. Martin making the effort to colour match exactly to the bridesmaid colours was just awesome! I would strongly recommend Martin Lake Roadshows to anyone organising a party or wedding. You will get a great service and a REALLY good DJ and great value for money. All our wedding guests said what a wonderful party we had and that is down to Martin! Thanks so much!.

Dave & Claire - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

John & Charlene DJ Review – Barford Park Barn – May 2014

Having attended a friends wedding who had Martin as their DJ we didn’t hesitate to book him for our wedding too! We booked the full day package having had a recommendation from other friends who had used Martin’s uplighting service.

Martin’s professional service made the pre-wedding arrangements easy, and on the day Martin picked up on comments made during the speeches and added relevant tracks to our playlist, which was a lovely personal touch.

Martin really helped keep the day to schedule and always had the right track to get people back on the dancefloor. We wouldn’t hesitate recommending him to others!

Thanks Martin!
Charlene & John’s Thank You Card

Thank you so much for all your hard work and preparation for our wedding day. Everyone partied hard and we couldn’t have done that without you.

We had a fantastic day and have lots of amazing memories that we will treasure forever. Many thanks, Charlene & John.

John & Charlene - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Stuart Lunan DJ Review – Marquee Birthday Party – Guilford, June 2013

Martin was superlative. What a lovely guy. He was brilliant and in all our views went way beyond the call of duty. I cannot praise him enough. A gentleman, a fun man and a 100% brilliant DJ!

Marquee Birthday Party DJ Review

Phil Rees DJ Review – co-founder and owner of Mo’jive, Moroller and The Mo’club

As a DJ, compere and equipment operator Martin Lake is a total professional. His ability to select the right music at the right time always results in the perfect atmosphere whether it’s a packed party dance floor, background music from a specific function or a themed event. His understanding of sound, lighting and decoration has always ensured the venue has the perfect ambience when you enter the room.

At The Mo’club his versatility, warm personality and experience has ensured that a wide range of events and clientele has been satisfied – whether it’s corporate clients such as HSBC or Wave 105 to Roller Disco club night to a specialised dance evening such as Mo’jive.
If you’re looking for professionalism, reliability and pure talent then Martin Lake always gets my recommendation.

 

Mo'club DJ Review

Claire & Mark Wedding DJ Review – Wedding In The Woods – June 2013

Thank you so much for DJ-ing at our wedding. It was fantastic – you really kept the energy going throughout the evening and there was a great combination of music. We had a fantastic time – just how we imagined it would be. Thanks again. Ps. My DJ dad was impressed with your kit!

Claire & Mark - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Martin and Amy Wedding DJ Review – Rhinefield House Hotel – August 2013

We just wanted to say thank you for a great night, your music selection was awesome and everyone said how great you were. It was everything we hoped for, so thank you very much for making it special!!

Martin Lake is by far the best DJ in Hampshire. He really understood how we saw our wedding reception going and was able to make some excellent suggestions around song choices for the night. Martin’s setup is unbelievable, the lights and effects really added to our night. All the guests said how great the DJ was and how inviting he was for requests etc. He was great value for money and a top guy.

Thanks for a great night.

Martin & Amy - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Elaine Rees DJ Review – 50th Birthday – Hamworthy Club March 2013

I struggle to find the adjectives to describe what an amazing night that was. Everyone has said how much they enjoyed it – everything – the jiving, the bolly, the disco…. And I could never have done it without you. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Elaine's 50th Birthday Review

Kathryn Young DJ Review – M&S Hedge End 20th Opening Anniversary – October 2011

I would very much like to take this opportunity to thank you for such a wonderful addition to our 20th birthday party. The evening was a total success, I’ve received many comments from friends and colleagues about how brilliant you were. I think you managed to pitch the music just right.

We have been asked to repeat the party so I have kept your details and will book you as soon as I can confirm the date. I will be in touch, thank you again.

Corporate DJ Review

Helen & Paul’s Wedding DJ Review – Rhinefield House – August 2013

Thank you very much for being our DJ at our wedding at the Rhinefield. We had an amazing day and you had the dancefloor filled in the evening.
We booked Martin as our wedding DJ as he was recommended to us by a friend. Martin is a fantastic DJ! He met with us before the wedding to discuss our needs and requirements. We gave him a song list of around 60 songs and he played most of them during the evening! We asked Martin to provide specific commentary throughout the night which he did. We highly recommend Martin as a wedding DJ. Thank you very much Martin for a fantastic evening of entertainment.

Helen & Paul - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Jayne & Clive Wedding DJ Review – Chilworth Manor –September 2013


Thank you so much for Friday night it was brilliant. Everyone had a fab time, Clive and myself included. And it’s really nice to hear that you enjoyed doing it as well.

Martin from the first time I spoke to him and on the run up to our wedding, made us feel very comfortable. He was very professional and helpful. He arranged and put uplighting up that went with our colour scheme for us. His lightshow was brilliant as well.

I knew I didn’t need to worry, martin made our day unforgettable for us. We would without a doubt use martin for our dj for another occasion, and also recommend him to everyone.

Thank you martin it was amazing

 

Jayne & Clive - Hampshire Wedding DJ Martin Lake Review

Bill & Sylvia DJ Review – Birthday Party – Chilworth Manor – March 2013

Thanks again for looking after the music so well. You caught the mood perfectly. It was rather amusing as recognising the somewhat elder age profile of the majority we had said on the invite that there would be “gentle” dancing after dinner. Well we got that wrong didn’t we!!!

We will certainly be asking the hotel to recommend you and pass on your details. Again very many thanks

70th Birthday Party Review

Chris Russell DJ Review – Joint 60th & 30th Birthday – Royal Southern Yacht Club – March 2014

We asked Martin to DJ at a combined family celebration of two 60th birthdays and one 30th. Put simply he was outstanding, he had obviously listened carefully to what we wanted and then delivered a pretty perfect set that had old and young on the dance floor pretty much continuously throughout the evening. We have no hesitation in recommending him.

Royal Southern Yacht Club Birthday Party

Denise & Tony Wedding DJ Review – Careys Manor– June 2016

Organisation – Excellent – very smooth and easy to communicate. We were met at a convenient time and location to us and made to feel very at ease. He was attentive to our needs and listened to everything we wanted including music choices. Any e mails were responded to promptly.

Our DJ – Martin was extremely professional in the way he presented himself and worked very hard to make sure we had the perfect evening. The lighting was superb and I would definitely recommend aspects such as up lighting and the lighting of the cake. Music and sound level were spot on including the ceremony music which was there when needed

Music played – My wife and I have very different music tastes from disco and jazz to 80’s electric music so our requested playlist was quite eclectic. Martin however managed perfectly to play all our songs and integrate them perfectly so the evening flowed. He was also more than happy to take specific requests from family and friends and made a terrific job of ensuring the evening flowed and everyone had a dance and a great time.

Overall  – An excellent evening and we could not have asked for more. Specifically however:
– your professional attitude to understanding our wishes was outstanding
– the way you were there throughout the day exactly when needed was spot on
– the music during the evening was played and flowed perfectly

 

Caroline & Dom’s Wedding DJ Review – Old Alresford Place – April 2015

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for the fantastic music at our wedding at Old Alresford Place on April 11th. Dom and I had a fantastic time and loved seeing the dancefloor so busy with everyone having a great time!

Thank you so much! Lots of love Caroline & Dom x

Claire & Mark Lilley Wedding DJ Review – Careys Manor – September 2012

Excellent communication including venue meeting and frequent emails.  All round excellent appearance, the lighting created a lovely atmosphere.   Martin let me pick all my favourite songs for the playlist and let my guests put in requests.

Martin converted my favourite album onto the correct format so he could play it for our ceremony music; I now get goosebumps every time I listen to it as it brings back magical memories. The lighting in the reception room was brilliant, we went from a formal dinner setting to a chilled out night.

Mr & Mrs Hopewell’s Wedding DJ Review – Rhinefield House – June 2012

Thanks for being part of our special day and providing first class music at the Rhinefield House.  Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening and I even got my parents to dance which is a first!

Thanks again for being part of our special day.  Best Wishes.

Dawn Couzens DJ Review – Humphrey Feeds Summer Ball – September 2012

I just want to say a big thank you from all at Humphrey Feeds Ltd for Saturday, really pleased with how the evening went. Feedback from guests, you were brilliant, also playing peoples requests was a big bonus, brilliant, extremely happy with your service.  

We will be in contact as soon as we start to plan the next one.

Martin & Vicki Allen DJ Review – Hythe Sailing Club – July 2012

We just wanted to say a massive thank you for your dj’ing at our wedding reception! Everyone that came had a wonderful time, and I’m sure I saw almost every guest dancing at some point!!
We were particularly impressed with your introductions of our parents during the ‘first dance’, timing it to the music was brilliant and unexpected even though we both knew the song!!

If we ever need a DJ again we will definitely be getting in touch with you!

Kim & Mark DJ Review  – De Vere, New Place 2011

Martin, thank you for all of your hard work that made our day even more special. The Uplighting was a great touch and really brought the venue to life.
Thanks again.

S J E Gregory (Squadron Leader) DJ Review – Summer Ball 2009

Martin Lake was fantastic and really good value for money.  It is rare to see such a good DJ, with an open mind and selection of tunes with such quality kit.  And he played all night!

Quick Enquiry

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

adminReviews